Social Media and Medical Professionalism: A Manifesto from #HealthXPh

Social Media and Medical Professionalism: A Manifesto from #HealthXPh
+ I am a health care provider and I will conduct myself in a manner worthy of my profession, even online. I will not use online platforms to rant or bash patients and healthcare professionals.
+ “First, do no harm.” Recognizing this and the trust that comes with my profession, I will ensure that the information I post, like or share is accurate.
+ Whatever I post online in relation to my clinical expertise should be of benefit to my countrymen.
+ I will prioritize the promotion and advancement of health rather than of medical products. I will not practice plagiarism.
+ I will refrain from posting information online that will compromise patient confidentiality and privacy.
+ I will value the patient’s dignity and privacy by not taking selfies, groufies or videos during encounters with patients that include patients’ body parts, surgical specimens or that show patients in the background without their consent.

ROJ@17aug2

This entry was posted in Social Media. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

