ROJoson Medical Clinic Consultation with Appointment Time

ROJoson Medical Clinic Consultation with Appointment Time

Reynaldo O. Joson, MD, MHA, MHPEd, MScSurg

December 18, 2016 

One of the most significant “Happiness, Satisfaction and Productivity” that I have attained in 2016 (based on my tracking of ROJoson Counting Marbles records) is the avoidance of long-waiting time of my patients consulting at ROJoson Medical Clinic.

I seriously started this professional and compassionate advocacy in 2015 on my 66th birthday.  I reviewed it after one year of implementation in January 2016.  I refined the system on my 67th birthday in January 2016. I started implementing the refined scheme in February 2016.

In February 1, 2016, I gave the following advisories:

appointment_sched_procedures_rj_15jan4_15feb24_16jan3_feb10

In other words, the patients had to book with me for a specific appointment time through my cellphone. Below are samples of my SMS interactions with my patients on the booked appointment time system.

sms_booking_given_rj_16may6

sample_sms_appt_rj_16feb18

sms_booking_confirmed_rj_16may6

 

sms_booking_adjustment_rj_16may6

sms_request_booked_appt_rj_16may8

sms_appt_16feb22

late_beware_sms_16may29

After orienting and training  my patients as well as my secretary on the booked appointment time system, I transferred the task of setting the booking system to my secretary effective July 12, 2016.  Thus, from July 12, 2016 up to present, it has been my secretary now doing the booking system. She receives booking through phone calls, cellphones, and Facebook.

appointment_sched_procedures_rj_16jul10

I started with a target of no more than 90 minutes waiting time from booked appointment time in February 2016.

I changed the target to no more than 75 minutes in May 2016.

In October 2016, I changed the target to no more than 60 minutes.

The target will remain to be no more than 60 minutes waiting time from booked appointment time for 2017.

ROJoson Medical Clinic – Booked Appointment – February to December 2016 – Performance 

 

 

Late No show Range Waiting Time (From Booked Appt Time to End of Consultation (0 – connotes consultation started before booked appt time) Mean Waiting Time (From Booked Appt Time to End of Consultation
December 2016 12 4 0- 66 min – One patient with waiting time for more than 60 minutes (66 minutes because of a long consultation of a another patient) Overall mean = 7 min
November 2016 11 14 0- 45 min – No waiting time for more than 60 minutes (longest = 45 minutes) Overall mean = 9 min
October 2016 8 7 0- 60 min – No waiting time for more than 60 minutes (longest = 60 minutes) Overall mean = 14 min
September 2016 6 4 0-40 min – No waiting time for more than 75 minutes (longest = 40 minutes) Overall mean = 10 min
August  12 5 0-49 min – No waiting time for more than 75 minutes (longest = 49 minutes) Overall mean = 10 min
July 0 0 No waiting time for more than 75 minutes (longest = 57 minutes) Overall mean = 7 min
June 3 0 No waiting time of more than 75 minutes (longest = 62min) Overall mean = 20 min
May 0 0 One patient had waiting time of more than 75 minutes (87 minutes – primary reason long consultation time – 45 minutes) [Note: target of no more than 75 minutes started in May 2016] Overall mean = 15 min
April 0 0 No waiting time of more than 90 minutes Overall mean = 18 min
March 0 0 No waiting time of more than 90 minutes Overall mean = 16 min
February 1  1 Except for one patient whose consultation took 96 minutes, the rest have less the 90 minutes of waiting time  (counting starting from booked appointment time). Overall mean = 26 min

 

I am happy with what I have done, that is, avoidance of long-waiting time of my patients consulting at ROJoson Medical Clinic.  My patients are also all happy.

I hope to serve as a role model for all other physicians in the country.

I have written an article to share my experience to other physicians and also in the light of DOH policy on “no queues – by appointment only.”

https://rojosonwritingsonhospitaladministration.wordpress.com/2016/10/06/no-queues-by-appointment-only/

ROJ@16dec18

This entry was posted in Clinic Appointment. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

