Old Doctors Never Die – They Just Lose Their Patience

October 15, 2016, I saw this in the Ebay:

old_doctors

It is being sold for $29.99.

A patient gave me this frame (I cannot remember when and who now).  She cross-stitched it herself.  It looks exactly the same. I still have it in my clinic in Manila Doctors Hospital as of 2016.

old_doctors_patience

roj_mdh_clinic_13jul23e

It is a pun.

Pun is a joke exploiting the different possible meanings of a word or the fact that there are words that sound alike but have different meanings.

Pun is the humorous use of a word or phrase so as to emphasize or suggest its differentmeanings or applications, or the use of words that are alike or nearly alike in sound but different in meaning; a play on words.

“Old doctors never die”, for me, it means when doctors get old.

“They just lose their patience”, for me, it can mean patients and patience itself.   Patients and patience can have something in common.  In fact, some say that patients are called patients because they are expected to have patience in waiting for doctors, for treatment, for healing to take place, etc.  Strictly speaking, though, the word “patient” comes from Latin patiens , meaning “one who is suffering.”  So, the meaning of patience is a figurative one.

When doctors get old, like me, I either lose my patients and / or my patience in dealing with them.  Although this is a fact of life, I hope it does not happen to me, yet, and especially the latter (patience – the capacity to accept or tolerate stress from patients without getting angry or upset).

ROJ@16oct15

This entry was posted in Old Doctors. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

