Clutter Management – Tackle Boxes of Yesteryears

I found these tackle boxes in the storage places in my house (16jan6).

This first tackle box (picture below) contained the toy cars of my son.

IMG_0671The first tackle box was originally given to me circa 1990 to be used as tackle box for chemotherapy (thus, Chemotherapy Box).  I recycled and gave it to my son to be used to contain his toy cars.

IMG_0672

Tackle box containing the toy cars of my son (16jan6).

IMG_0680

IMG_0679

I removed the toy cars and then use it (16jan6) to contain medicines commonly used in the house.

I have to ask permission from my son to declutter his toy cars.

I took a picture of his toy cars for remembrance purpose.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

This second tackle box also contained toy cars of my son (16jan6).

IMG_0674

IMG_0676

IMG_0677

IMG_0678

IMG_0681

IMG_0682

I removed the toy cars and then use it (16jan6) to contain my surgical and medical supplies.

I have to ask permission from my son to declutter his toy cars.

I took a picture of his toy cars for remembrance purpose.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Decluttering principles that I used:

1. Declutter at Least One Item a Day.

2. Declutter the Easy Stuff First.

3. Do Not Declutter Things that are not Yours Without the Owner’s Permission.

Beware nostalgia. If you’re a doting parent, it’s not easy to discard a child’s creation, whether it’s pastel drawings from the second grade or that cooler-sized medieval castle. But if you’re serious about minimizing clutter, you must. Robertson recommends taking a picture of your child with the creation, and letting that be your keepsake. “After all,” she says, “what would you rather have in 30 years — a photo of that castle, or the mouse-infested castle itself?” Of course, if your child creates something truly special, you’ll want to keep it, maybe even display it in your home.

4. Put a Disposal Plan in Place.  (I plan to give the toy cars to charity, with the permission of my son.)

One key to de-cluttering is getting rid of things, not simply rearranging them. Tidying up is not the same as organizing.

5. Recyle and make good use of stuff that can still be used. (I converted the tackle boxes into medicine and medical / surgical supply boxes.)

 

ROJ@16jan6

This entry was posted in Clutter Management. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

