Clutter Management – ROJoson Strategies and Action Plans

January 6, 2016 – I review, renew, and reinforce my clutter management program.

IMG_0683IMG_0684

Review 1: 

On January 8, 2015, I posted this article in my Facebook Timeline and Facebook Family Group and I said I would follow the recommended principles.  Today, January 6, 2016, I renew and reinforce my resolutions to follow these principles to the hilt.

http://www.becomingminimalist.com/decluttering-principles

“Declutter. Organize. Live.”

The 10 Most Important Decluttering Principles:

1. Stop the Flow of Stuff Coming In.

2. Declutter at Least One Item a Day.

3. Declutter the Easy Stuff First.

4. Put a Disposal Plan in Place.

5. Decide to Not Keep Things out of Guilt or Obligation.

6. Do Not Be Afraid to Let Go.

7. Gifts Do Not Have to be Material.

8. Do Not Over-Equip Your Home.

9. Do Not Declutter Things that are not Yours Without the Owner’s Permission.

10. Do Not Waste Your Life on Clutter.

Review 2:

I reviewed the Japanese 5S which I have found useful since I was exposed to it in 1991 but have not been implementing them fully.

Today, January 6, 2016, I renew and reinforce my resolutions to follow the 5S principles to the hilt.

5S is the name of a workplace organization method that uses a list of five Japanese words:seiri, seiton, seiso, seiketsu,and shitsuke.  The list describes how to organize a work space for efficiency and effectiveness by identifying and storing the items used, maintaining the area and items, and sustaining the new order.[2]

Seiri – Sort

Seiton – Set in order 

Seiso – Shine or keep clean

Sieketsu – Standardize with a definite process 

Shitsuke – Sustain through discipline

Review 3:

My clutter management shall include my life; my clinic; my room and working place in my house; my storage places in my house; and my documents and files.

Status:

My life: Done just maintenance and continual improvement.

My clinic: My drawers (as I shared clinic with another physician and there is a secretary): Done just maintenance and continual improvement

My working place in my house: Done just maintenance and continual improvement.

My storage places in my house: Still a lot of work to be done. (FOCUS in 2016)

My documents and files: Still a lot of work to be done. (FOCUS in 2016)

 

Renewal and Reinforcement Action Plans:

Today, January 6, 2016, I renew and reinforce my resolutions to follow the 10 principles contained in http://www.becomingminimalist.com/decluttering-principles and 5S.

I will focus on the following and will attain the status of DONE by December 31, 2016.  I will document everything that I have done to achieve the status of done (inclusive of principles used).

My storage places in my house: Still a lot of work to be done.

My documents and files: Still a lot of work to be done.

By December 31, 2016, I will achieve status of DONE, JUST MAINTENANCE AND CONTINUAL IMPROVEMENT on all elements of my clutter management: my life; my clinic; my room and working place in my house; my storage places in my house; and my documents and files.

I will make a list of things that I have to declutter (focus on my storage places in my house and my documents and files).  Then, declutter at least one item a day.  I will document this activity.

Wish me luck!

ROJ@16jan6

This entry was posted in Clutter Management. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Clutter Management – ROJoson Strategies and Action Plans

  1. Ninay says:

    God bless sir! I also did my decluttering just this January. Keep the things you love and spark joy, as Marie Kondo says. 3 bags of trash and 2 bags to give away after 4 hours of cleaning. 🙂

Leave a Reply

