My Outreached Programs in Zamboanga City and Zamboanga Peninsula

My Outreached Programs in Zamboanga City and Zamboanga Peninsula

Reynaldo O. Joson, MD

July 29, 2015

Ph_zamboanga_peninsula

It all started in 1991 after my stint as Director of the University of the Philippines College of Medicine Postgraduate Institute of Medicine when Dr. Fortunato Cristobal, a pediatrician from Zamboanga City and close friend of mine, requested me to help in the training program of the Department of Surgery of Zamboanga City Medical Center (Zamboanga Regional Hospital then).

I acceded and conducted a distance education course in general surgery from 1991 to 1997, not only for resident trainees of the Zamboanga City Medical Center but also for interested surgical trainees from other provinces like Jolo, Tawi-tawi, and Basilan.  I even formulated in 1996 a project called Trained Surgeons in Western Mindanao by 2000, which I was not able to complete.  (Link) The project was to equip Western Mindanao (Zamboanga Peninsula) with trained general surgeons.  I finished my outreached surgical educational program for Zamboanga City Medical Center in 1997.

In 1993, I started my outreached medical education program when I taught the faculty-to-be of the Ateneo de Zamboanga University School of Medicine (Zamboanga Medical School Foundation then).  I helped established their problem-based, competency-based, and community-based medical curriculum.  The project was to equip Zamboanga Peninsula with more physicians, particularly municipal health officers.  I finished my outreached medical education program for the medical school in 1997.

In 2009 and 2012, I helped Ciudad Medical Zamboanga, a private hospital in Zamboanga City, in its quality management system.  I assisted CMZ in getting the Philippine Quality Award in 2014, the first hospital in the Philippines to receive such a national quality award.  I finished my stint with CMZ at the end of 2014.

In 2015, from March up to now, I am back in Zamboanga Peninsula working under the Zuellig Family Foundation to control maternal deaths.  I am helping Zamboanga City Medical Center, Zamboanga Sibugay Provincial Hospital, Zamboanga del Norte Medical Center, and Zamboanga del Sur Medical Center control maternal deaths.

Looking back, I have been going back and forth to Zamboanga City and Zamboanga Peninsula for the last 24 years doing outreached programs on surgical education, medical education, hospital administration education, and hospital program management education. Looking back, it was not only Zamboanga City that I have been helping, but also the entire Zamboanga Peninsula – through the Trained Surgeons in Western Mindanao; the community-oriented medical curriculum of the Ateneo de Zamboanga University School of Medicine, and lately (2015), the maternal death control management system.

Today, July 29, 2015, I accepted an offer to expand the maternal death control management system in Zamboanga City Medical Center to maternal and newborn death control management system.

I will also be conducting a strategic planning for the Department of Surgery of Zamboanga City Medical Center come August 2015.

Up to when will be my stints and outreached programs in Zamboanga City and Zamboanga Peninsula, I don’t know the answer yet.

ROJ@15jul29

This entry was posted in Outreached Programs in Zamboanga. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

