ROJoson’s Life Thanksgiving @65

ROJoson’s Life Thanksgiving @65

On January 31, 2014, I will be 65 years old.  This means that I have been living on this earth for 65 years already.  With the average life span of people living in the Philippines being 70 years, with 5 years to go, I consider myself to be now at the homestretch at 65 years old.  At this time, i.e., at 65 years old, I consider myself still healthy, in terms of being productive in my family; the institutions that I am currently connected with, such as Manila Doctors Hospital, University of the Philippine College of Medicine and Philippine General Hospital, and Ospital ng Maynila Medical Center; and the community that I reside in, Metro Manila and Philippines.   I am still productive despite my nearsightedness visual acuity; intermittent numbness of the hands, more on the left; intermittent joint pains, particularly at the knee and back; mild to moderate hypertension;  deranged lipid profile; recurrent ganglion cyst on right thumb; and baldness. Except for some of my teeth, I have not lost any of my body organs to diseases or physical injuries.  I am still productive despite my mental stresses with intermittent bouts of anxieties and depression.

Still being quite healthy physically and mentally to be able to sustain productivity up to age 65 years, I like to thank foremost our Almighty God for this grant and blessing.  I also like to thank all the non-God people around me, in close and distant proximity; at home and outside my home; in and outside the  schools where I studied from elementary and high school to colleges and universities; in and outside my professional works as physician, surgeon, MD-community health problem-solver, MD-teacher, MD-researcher, MD-manager; in and outside my places of works; who interacted with me and who crossed my paths in one way or another and at time or another and who supported, contributed, and collaborated with me in my being productive and healthy and in the legacies that I leave behind.

In my family, I like to thank in particular my parents (my Pa and Ma); my 9 brothers and sisters; my wife, Jackie, and two children, Lance and Therese; and in-laws (parents and sisters).

For my alma maters, I like to thank Xavier School and University of the Philippines, Diliman and Manila.

In my places of work, I like to thank in particular my colleagues in Manila Doctors Hospital; Department of Surgery of UP College of Medicine and Philippine General Hospital; and Department of Surgery of Ospital ng Maynila Medical Center.

In Manila Doctors Hospital, I like to thank in particular, Dr. and Ms. George SK Ty; Dr. Antonio Abacan;  Mr. Aniceto Sobrepena; and the staff of the Corporate and Strategic Planning Office and Quality Management Office.

In the Department of Surgery of Ospital ng Maynila Medical Center, I like to thank Dr. Cristia Padolina for appointing me as Chair in 2001; Don Go Peng Kuan Foundation and Norma T. Chua Foundation for the support of my projects; as well as the resident and consultant staff during my term as chairman.

In the Department of Surgery of UP College of Medicine and Philippine General Hospital, I like to thank the late George Eufemio (for inviting me to join GSI Division in 1982); Dr. Antonio Limson (for giving me an official appointment in PGH-UPCM in 1985); Dr. Marita Reyes (for appointing me as Director of the UP Postgraduate Institute of Medicine in 1989); Dr. Romeo Gutierrez (for appointing me as Chief of GSI Division from 1994 to 2000);  and Don Go Peng Kuan Foundation for the major renovation of the GSI Office; and all the consultant staff of GSI.

In my outreach educational mission, which I dubbed as Education for Health Development in the Philippines, I like to thank in particular Dr. Fortunato Cristobal; Zamboanga City Medical Center Department of Surgery; Zamboanga Medical School Foundation; Bicol Christian College of Medicine; Southwestern University College of Medicine; Tondo Medical Center; and Ciudad Medical Zamboanga.

There are other non-God people I like to thank which I cannot completely enumerate here.  Rest assure  I will thank them personally when I see them again or I will post my thank you for them in my blogs and Facebook.

ROJ@14jan8

This entry was posted in Birthdays, Reflections on Retirement. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

