ROJoson Remembering, Appreciating and Thanking Dr. Michael Liquete – 2013-09-08

ROJoson Remembering, Appreciating and Thanking Dr. Michael Liquete – 2013-09-08

uppgh_surg_1977D

Dr. Mike Liquete (3rd from right, first row), 5th-year Resident, in 1997 – my senior resident.

IMG_6536

Dr. Mike Liquete, my colleague, when I joined the consultant staff of GS1.

IMG_6549

During the retirement ceremony of Dr. George Eufemio, our mentor.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

ROJoson Remembering, Appreciating and Thanking Dr. Michael Liquete – 2013-09-08

A Teacher, A Colleague, and A Friend

Dr. Michael Liquete was my and our senior resident in 1976 when I and Rosemarie Rosete  (who eventually became his wife) were first-year residents in the Department of Surgery of the Philippine General Hospital.   Eventually, he joined the consultant staff of the Section of GS1.    Thus, Dr. Liquete was my mentor from 1976 to 1981 when I graduated.

When I joined the consultant staff of GS1 in 1982, he became my colleague or I, his colleague.  He was the Chief of the GS1 Division from 1988 to 1992.  When he became busy with his chairmanship in Quirino Memorial Hospital, he decided to resign from the Philippine General Hospital sometime in 2006 (if I am not mistaken).

Aside from being a teacher and a colleague, Dr. Liquete was a friend as an offshoot of my close friendship with Dr. Rosemarie Rosete-Liquete, now a renowned female transplantation surgeon.  Rose was my batchmate in the general surgery residency program from 1976 to 1981.  While we were residents, we, her batchmates, would tease her to Mike.  Eventually, they became a couple and got married.

Two things I greatly appreciate in Dr. Mike Liquete – humility and professionalism.  Humility – he would readily admit his weakpoints and errors; he would not brag his achievements.   Professionalism – he would treat his colleagues, both older and younger ones, with respect; he decided to pass on the managership of GS1 when he thought he could not handle it anymore because of lack of time; he was very diplomatic in dealing with people.

Thank you, Mike, my teacher, my colleague, and my friend.

DSC02941

The GS1 Office was renovated during the term of Dr. Michael Liquete, circa 1988-1989.  The latest renovation was done July 2013.

IMG_6535

Slide1

gsi_conf_mike_roj_nelson_1996C

gs1_rounds_mike

This entry was posted in Michael Liquete. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

