Breast Cancer Survivor Victoria Germino – 10 Years in Remission

On June x, 2013, when Ms. Vicky Germino came to visit me for a check-up, the first thing she said to me was something like this, “Doc, I am now 10 years, a Breast Cancer Survivor. You can include me in your list of Cancer Survivors already.”  When I saw her last January 2013, she was still a month or two before her 10th year of cancer survivorship.  So, I did not include her in the list yet.  On this most recent visit to my clinic, she jumped the gun on me, declaring that she is now a Breast Cancer Survivor.  She was happy and was really looking forward to her 10th year.

Ms. Vicky Germino is my kababayan from Nueva Ecija.  She was 39 years old in February 3, 2013 when I did a modified radical mastectomy on her breast cancer in Manila Doctors Hospital.  The histopathological result showed invasive ductal carcinoma with no evidence of lymph node metastasis.  She did not receive any postoperative adjuvant treatment.  She has been religiously following-up with me.  As of today, she is 49 years old and 10 years in remission.  We both thank God for this long remission.

vicky_germino_13jun8

This entry was posted in Breast Cancer Survivors. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

