“The Impossible Dream” – A ROJoson’s Recall, Reflection and Wish

“The Impossible Dream” – A ROJoson’s Recall, Reflection and Wish

February 14, 2013, three members of the Board of Directors of Dr. Fe del Mundo Medical Center met with selected Senior Management Team of Manila Doctors Hospital to explore partnership.  I was invited to the meeting.  The Board of Directors gave hand-outs that stated their vision: By 2017, the medical center aims to be a state of the art facility under the guidance of Divine Providence carrying on its founder’s legacy of excellence and commitment.  The hand-outs included a statement that “by 2017, we trust that under the guidance of Divine Providence, our Dream is a reality.”  This statement was followed by the lyrics of “The Impossible Dream.”

Seeing the lyrics of “The Impossible Dream” was a déjà vu for me.

I recall circa 1996, my late mentor, Dr. George Eufemio, was telling everybody that I was like Don Quixote in the Man of la Mancha novel, whose full title is: “The Ingenious Gentleman Don Quixote of La Mancha.”   I don’t know whether it was an appreciation or a criticism.  However, I like to believe it was an appreciation as Dr. George Eufemio was one of my mentors in the University of the Philippines College of Medicine and Philippine General Hospital whom I have emulated a lot, particularly on doing things that are seemingly impossible.  The most memorable “impossible” thing done by Dr. Eufemio was the publication of the Philippine Textbook of Surgery.  He was able to painstakingly produce the first edition in 1990.  He dreamt of having a second edition up to the time of his death this year, 2013.

“The Impossible Dream (the Quest)” is the main song in the musical Man of La Mancha.  It was written in 1965 by Mitch Leigh for the musical.  Since then, it has become a popular hit even up to this day.

I cannot recall when I first heard the “The Impossible Dream” song.  What I am confident of is that I heard it in a musical play in the Philippines, most likely, the one produced by Repertory Philippines circa 1990s.  What I recall is that I was emotionally moved during the play when I heard the lyrics as they were reflective of my personality and  what I had been doing so far in my life.   I have taken to like the song since then and would sing 0r hum it whenever I heard it being played and sung.   It goes without saying “The Impossible Dream” is one of my favorite songs.  I wish and hope to be able to continue to live up to even just the spirit of the song until I die, particularly, the lyrics in the last two paragraphs:

And I know if I’ll only be true
To this glorious quest
That my heart will lie peaceful and calm
When I’m laid to my rest

And the world will be better for this
That one man, scorned and covered with scars
Still strove with his last ounce of courage
To reach the unreachable star

 

don-quixote

i_dream_impossible_dream_rj_13feb17

eufemio_pgh_chapel_13jan9E

“The Impossible Dream”

from MAN OF LA MANCHA (1972)

To dream the impossible dream
To fight the unbeatable foe
To bear with unbearable sorrow
To run where the brave dare not go

To right the unrightable wrong
To love pure and chaste from afar
To try when your arms are too weary
To reach the unreachable star

This is my quest
To follow that star
No matter how hopeless
No matter how far

To fight for the right
Without question or pause
To be willing to march into Hell
For a heavenly cause

And I know if I’ll only be true
To this glorious quest
That my heart will lie peaceful and calm
When I’m laid to my rest

And the world will be better for this
That one man, scorned and covered with scars
Still strove with his last ounce of courage
To reach the unreachable star

This entry was posted in Life Notes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

