Thyroid Cancer Survivor Letty Kuan – 21 Years in Remission

Thyroid Cancer Survivor Letty Kuan – 21 Years in Remission

Ms. Letty Kuan – My School Nurse in Xavier School, My Colleague in UP Manila, and My Patient

Posted on April 19, 2012 by

letty_kuan_12apr19a

Ms. Letty Kuan – My School Nurse in Xavier School, My Colleague in UP Manila, and My Patient

See story below.

Thyroid Cancer Survivor Letty Kuan – 21 Years in Remission

by Reynaldo O Josonon Thursday, April 19, 2012 at 1:59pm ·

Ms. Letty Kuan, is a nurse.  She was my school nurse in Xavier School when I was grade V in this school, in 1960.  We met again in University of the Philippines Manila when I was already a professor in the Department of Surgery, UP College of Medicine while she was a professor at the UP College of Nursing. In 1991, I operated on her thyroid papillary carcinoma in the Philippine General Hospital.  I did a total thyroidectomy.  Postoperatively, she received thyroid hormones.  I saw her today in Manila Doctors Hospital while she was visiting one of my patients, CN.  She is now 75 years old with no clinical evidence of recurrence – 21 years in remission.  We both thank God for this long remission.

letty_kuan_12apr19c

 

letty_kuan_12apr19b

This entry was posted in Thyroid Cancer Survivors. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

