ROJoson Legacy to the Philippine with Focus on Medical Education and Hospital Administration

ROJoson Legacy to the Philippine with Focus on Medical Education and Hospital Administration

November 20, 2012

In January 31, 2011, I made a document entitled ROJOSON’s Strategic Life Planning for 2011 to 2019.

Within this document, I identified the legacies I wanted to leave behind when I leave this earth.

ROJ Legacies

ROJ Family Legacy

ROJ Patients Legacy

ROJ Students Legacy

ROJ Philippines Legacy

ROJManilaDoctorsHospital Legacy

ROJ OMMC Department of Surgery Legacy

ROJ Philippine General Hospital Department of Surgery and GSI Division Legacy

ROJUniversity of the PhilippinesCollege of Medicine Legacy

I tried to concretize my legacy plan using the following table below as a framework and as a guide in identifying and defining my past, present and future activities and projects as well as what I should consider as the end-points or targets in establishing my legacies.

 

ROJ 2011 Legacy Plan

 

ROJ Legacies Husband / Parent Hospital / Department Administration Medical / Surgical / Health Education Well-being and Medical Management
 Family √ (Husband / Parent)      
 Philippines    √ (Hospital Administration) √ (Health) √ (Health)
 Patients      √ (Health) √ (Well-being and Medical Management)
Students    √ (Hospital Administration) √ (Medical / Surgical Education)  
Manila Doctors Hospital / Department of Surgery   √ (Surgical Education)  
Ospital ng Maynila Medical Center / Department of Surgery    √ (Surgical Education)  
Philippine General Hospital Department of Surgery and GSI Division    √ (Surgical Education)  
University of the Philippines College of Medicine      √ (Medical Education)  

 

Every so often, at least twice a year, I reviewed my Strategic Life Planning for 2011-2019.

In this document, I will review my “ROJ Philippines Legacy” with focus on Medical Education and Hospital Administration.

As of today, November 20, 2012, I will consider the following as my main end-points or targets in my Philippine Legacy.

  1. Helping 4 provincial government hospitals outside Metro Manila.
  2. Helping 3 medical schools outside Metro Manila.
  3. Helping 3 private hospitals outside Metro Manila.

There may be other activities and projects that I have done in the past, am doing at present, and will do before 2019 that may have impact on the health of the Filipino people such as my Education for Health Development of the Philippines which I started in 1989. .  All of these will also be included in my Philippine Legacy.  However, the 3 items listed above will be my main indicators.

In my Philippine legacy, I used a pattern of inclusion, that of at least one institution in Luzon, the Visayas, and Mindanao.  Eventually, those institutions in Metro Manila that I helped will be included.

 

Helping 4 provincial government hospitals outside Metro Manila

This I have achieved already from 1989 to 1991 when I was the Director of the Postgraduate Institute of Medicine at the University of the Philippine College of Medicine.

The four provincial government hospitals that I helped are the following:

  1. Luzon – IsabelaProvincialHospital in Ilagan, Isabela
  2. Visayas – Dr. Rafael Tumbokon Memorial Hospital in Kalibo, Aklan
  3. Mindanao – MisamisOccidentalProvincialHospital in OroquietaCity
  4. Mindanao – SouthCotobatoProvincialHospital in KoronadalCity

Below is a write-up of the project:

The DOH-UPCM Postgraduate Circuit Course Project was launched in October 1989.  The project had for its general objective to provide continuing medical education to DOH physicians.  The specific objective was to promote expertise in the medical staff of the government provincial hospitals.

The project started with the DOH identifying four pilot provincial hospitals which would serve as centers for the postgraduate course.  One hospital selected was located in Luzon, the IsabelaProvincialHospital in Ilagan, Isabela.  Another hospital selected was located in the Visayas, Dr. Rafael Tumbokon Memorial Hospital in Kalibo, Aklan.  The other two hospitals selected are located in Mindanao, the MisamisOccidentalProvincialHospital in OroquietaCity and the SouthCotobatoProvincialHospital in KoronadalCity.

The project called for the holding of three postgraduate courses per year per center at 4-month intervals.  The Institute would design the course content and the teaching program as well as provide the faculty.

Helping 3 medical schools outside Metro Manila

This I have achieved already from 1994 to 2003.  I helped establish the Zamboanga Medical School Foundation in 1994 (its new name is Ateneo de Zamboanga University School of Medicine).  Here, I helped in promoting a problem-based, competency-base, and community-based medical curriculum.  It is the first medical school in the country that produces a dual degree program, MD-MPH.  After Zamboanga, I went to help Southwestern University College of Medicine in Cebu using the medical curriculum that I promoted in Zamboanga Medical School Foundation. Almost simultaneously, I went to help BicolChristianCollege of Medicine in Legazpi, Albay.

Thus, the 3 medical schools that I helped outside Metro Manila were the following:

  1. Mindanao – ZamboangaMedicalSchool Foundation, ZamboangaCity (1993-1996)
  2. Visayas – Southwestern UniversityCollege of Medicine, Cebu (1995 – 2000)
  3. Luzon – BicolChristianCollege of Medicine, Legazpi, Albay (1995 – 2003)

Helping 3 private hospitals outside Metro Manila.

As of November 18, 2012, I have committed to help Ciudad Medical Zamboanga on its journey to become an excellent hospital.  I am still scouting for a hospital in Luzon (outside Metro Manila) and one in the Visayas.  

I still have to help 2 private hospitals outside Metro Manila become excellent hospitals. Being connected with Manila Doctors Hospital, the main exclusion criterion for helping is a private hospital within Metro Manila.  Thus, I will only help ManilaDoctorsHospital in Metro Manila as long as I am still connected with it.

Within Metro Manila

I have helped and still helping the University of the Philippines College of Medicine, the Philippine General Hospital, ManilaDoctorsHospital, and Ospital ng MaynilaMedicalCenter.

(Will continue to refine this document.)

This entry was posted in ROJoson Consultancy in Hospital Administration, ROJoson's Life Dashboard. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

