Search for a New Chairperson of the Department of Surgery of UP College of Medicine and Philippine General Hospital – ROJoson’s TPORs

Search for a New Chairperson of the Department of Surgery of UP College of Medicine and Philippine General Hospital

Reynaldo O. Joson, MD, MHA, MHPEd, MSc Surg

September 14, 2012

This document contains my thoughts, perceptions, opinions and recommendations (TPORs) on the most recent event in my life, that of the search for a new chairperson of the Department of Surgery of UP College of Medicine and Philippine General Hospital.

September 12, 2012, I received a notice from Dr. Eduardo Gatchalian, Chair of the Department of Surgery of UPCM-PGH, designating me as the chair of the Ad Hoc Committee for the Search of a New Chair (of the Department of Surgery of UP College of Medicine and Philippine General Hospital).  The members of the Committee, aside from myself, consist of Dr. Eduardo Gatchalian and Dr. Josefina Almonte, incumbent and former chair respectively.  The task of the Committee, as stated in the notice, is “to coordinate and facilitate the search for a new chair of the Department of Surgery.”

I don’t know what were the backgrounds and reasons why I was designated a member, more so, chair of this Committee.  Dr. Gatchalian just mentioned to the staff of the Department during the September 12, 2012 Wednesday Department Conference, when he announced the formation of the Committee, that a reason for my being in the Committee was that I am a senior consultant staff of the Department.

At any rate, or anyhow, whatever be the reasons, I gladly and dutifully accept the assigned task and consider it as an honor and privilege, especially in view of my forthcoming retirement from the Department in January 31, 2014 (1 year and 5 months to go).

This is the first time in the history of the Department that there is a formal search committee.

I have not been a chair of the department and will not be one, as I am due for retirement (the term of office for the chair is for 3 years) and also, I am not aspiring to be one (I am contented with being a consultant staff, with having been a former Head of the Division of Head and Neck, Breast, and Surgical Oncology, and a former Director of the Postgraduate Institute of Medicine).

Being the Chair of the Ad Hoc Committee for the Search of a New Chair (of the Department of Surgery of UP College of Medicine and Philippine General Hospital), I am being given the opportunity to propose an honest-to-goodness process in the selection.  Hopefully, this process will not be just for now but also for the future.

Being the Chair of the Ad Hoc Committee for the Search of a New Chair (of the Department of Surgery of UP College of Medicine and Philippine General Hospital), indirectly and in some way or another at least, I am being given the opportunity to influence the selection of someone who has the potential to accomplish excellent things for the department.

I like to look at these two opportunities and their corresponding outputs as part of the legacies and contributions that I will leave behind in the Department of Surgery of UPCM and PGH.

What I will do next?

I will draft the guidelines in the selection process and present them to the two other members  of the Committee (Dr. Gatchalian and Dr. Almonte) for deliberation.

I envision the guidelines to be systematically arrived at and one that will gear towards selecting future chairperson who will provide effective leadership in the Department of Surgery.

Let’s see what will happen next after this initial TPOR.

This entry was posted in UPCM. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

