UPCM Tasks cum Honor for Retiring ROJoson

I am retiring from the University of the Philippines College of Medicine in January 31, 2014 (that’s 1 year and 5 months to go as of September, 2012). Lately, September 12, 2012, I received two notices – tasks to chair the ad hoc committee for the search of a new chair for the Department of Surgery and to be part of the strategic planning workshop of the UPCM come September 27, 2012. I consider these two tasks as an honor and privilege before I retire.

I have 1.5 years to go before I am forcibly retired from government service, in this particular case, UP College of Medicine and Philippine General Hospital. I am being asked to chair the search committee for a new chairperson of my Department of Surgery. I consider this an honor and privilege. This is the first time in the history of the Department that there is a formal search committee. I have not been a chair of the department. At least, I have the opportunity to propose an honest-to-goodness process in the selection on who will be the next chair, someone who has the potential to accomplish things (as I envision) for the department. This will be one of the legacies and contributions that I will leave behind in the Department of Surgery of UPCM and PGH.

I have 1.5 years to go before I retire from the UP College of Medicine. I consider this invitation to be part of strategic planning participants an honor and privilege. I will try to help formulate “creative and innovative solutions for the benefit of our beloved College.” This is one of the legacies and contributions that I will leave behind in the UP College of Medicine before I retire.

This entry was posted in UPCM. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

