PAGASA and MMDA Tweet Templates as Compared to ROJoson’s Recommended SMS Templates in Emergency Alert and Advisory Communication

August 20, 2012, my family had dinner with a professor of physics from the University of the Philippines Diliman.

She told me she appreciated the SMS template that I was advocating in emergency alert and advisory communication.  What she liked most was the inclusion of date and time.

She said PAGASA and MMDA tweets should also contain date in their tweet advisories, not just the time.   She said she has problem deciphering the currentness (presentness, nowness, up-to-dateness) of the advisories.

I thanked her for appreciating the usefulness and the “informativeness” of the SMS template that I have been advocating since January of 2012.

When I went home after the dinner, I checked what she was commenting on regarding the PAGASA and MMDA tweets.

Below are samples of tweets from PAGASA and MMDA which I copied from the Net.   In the main tweet, there is an indication of time “as of …….”   However, there is no date.   On the right upper corner, though, there is a notation of “14th” which I think signifies that the tweet was posted 14 hours ago.

From my cellphone, I copied this Pagasa tweet.  It has the time of tweet but no date.  I saw this tweet on my phone at 9:45 am, August 21, 2012 (see right upper corner of my cellphone screen).   Looking at the second tweet on the cellphone screen, one sees “8 h ago from web” on the last line.   I surmise this particular tweet was sent 8 hours ago.     If I were to determine on which date or day the “8:57 am was part of,  whether August 20 or 21, 2012, I have to do some subtraction calculation.

My professor friend is suggesting that PAGASA includes the date on top of the time in all its tweet advisories.  It can retain the information the time the tweet was made.

Below are samples of SMS that I taught staff of the Department of Surgery of Ospital ng Maynila Medical Center and Manila Doctors Hospital to do, which included the date and time in the message.  My professor friend likes this format and she is sharing this to her circle of colleagues and friends so that they can adopt this.

This entry was posted in Rain-Flood-Wind Emergencies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

