Inaugural ceremony of UPCM Dean Agnes Mejia – Towards Leadership and Excellence in Community-oriented Medical Education Directed to the Underserved!

Today, August 14, 2012, I attended the inaugural ceremony of Dean Agnes Mejia (new Dean of the University of the Philippines College of Medicine).

Agnes delivered a very nice inaugural speech, a down-to-earth one, her journey from  being a medical student in UPCM, to residency in PGH Department of Internal Medicine to being the Chairperson of the Department for 8.5 years.  She deserves to have the higher position given to her.

She presented her vision and action plans for the UP College of Medicine.

I am glad she will continue the Return of Service Agreement.

In essence, she will continue to work for the mission of the UPCM, shown below, to which I subscribe also ever since I became an official faculty of my alma mater in 1985.

As of August 1, 2012, I have 1.5 years to go before I retire from UPCM.  I will try to contribute more along this mission of the UPCM before I retire on January 31, 2014.    This will be integrated into my Education for Health Development in the Philippines that I started in 1989.

Promise? Rey?

Some  ongoing thoughts already – distance education to the return to service graduates; online problem-based medical curriculum and organ-system integrated curriculum.

My legacies for UPCM?

******************************

Additional pictures posted September 2, 2012:

This entry was posted in UPCM. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

