ROJoson’s Rain-Flood-Wind Emergency-Disaster-Crisis Management – August 9, 2012

ROJoson’s Rain-Flood-Wind Emergency-Disaster-Crisis Management – August 9, 2012

Reynaldo O. Joson, MD, MHA, MHPEd, MSc Surg

August 9, 2012

The rain-flood that affected Metro Manila from August 6 to 9, 2012 has somewhat subsided at this time of my writing (August 9, 2012 – 3:00 pm).  I was able to leave my house and went to Ospital ng Maynila Medical Center and to Manila Doctors Hospital to do my medical rounds and hold clinic.  Before I left my house, I looked at the weather outside (it was not raining anymore and it was quite sunny already).  I surfed the Internet (Twitter, MMDA, Pagasa, GMA – News, Philippine Daily Inquirer News) to assess the rain-flood situation in the places I would go to and routes that I would take to reach these places.  I called up Dr. Tonton Ang who lives in San Antonio Village to ask if the Vito Cruz – Kamagoong  areas were still flooded (answer:just subsided a few hours ago).  I called up a resident, Dr. Bernice Navaro, on duty at the Philippine General Hospital to ask if Taft Avenue was still flooded (answer: no more).  I called Manila Doctors Hospital Telephone and Information Services and was told the United Nations Avenue in front of the hospital was already passable. Before I left my house, I texted the patients who wanted to see me in MDH that I was holding clinic at 10:00 am.  I reached MDH without any hitch, no more flood along the way.   There was good coordination between my patients and myself.  Every body was happy as everything went on smoothly as planned and safely.   I was able to apply my August 8, 2012 resolutions on rain-flood-wind emergency safety and preparedness plans.

https://rojosonfacebooknotes.wordpress.com/2012/08/08/rojosons-insights-and-resolutions-on-rain-flood-emergencies-august-8-2012/

 

This entry was posted in Rain-Flood-Wind Emergencies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

