ROJoson’s Digital Camera and Disaster Preparedness

July is Disaster Consciousness Month.

In an article which will be published in MDH Good Health (see attached) and which I already shared in my blogs, Facebook and emails, I said the concept of disaster consciousness and preparedness should go beyond natural calamities.

I said the concept of disaster is applicable to a person in the realm of death, disability, and preservation of assets and valuables.

DSC-W120/B-Digital Still Camera-W Series

DSC-W120/B

camera_sony_bot_2011_actual_12jan20A
Camera given to me by Delly, my sister in 2011

Late last year, 2011, my sister, Delly, gave me a digital camera. It was only after I received the digital camera that I started regularly taking pictures for documentation purposes again.  From 1976 to 1985, I used to take a lot of pictures in the process of managing patients.  I think after 1985, I stopped, as the digital cameras were starting to replace the analogue ones.  See https://sites.google.com/site/digitalmedicalpresentation for history of my cameras and medical photography.  I treasured the pictures, mainly slides, that I took before, about 10,000 of them.  I indexed them. I used them for teaching purposes.  From the pictures, I was able to increase my clinical acumen to more than 95%.

Now that I have started to take a lot of pictures again for my learning and teaching purposes, I am feeling the same thing.  The pictures are a treasure to me.

If I lose my camera, it will be a disaster for me.  The loss will overwhelm me in terms of psychosocial impact, because of the pictures that I will lose, not the camera per se.

Thus, this evening, I decided to make the following disaster preventive and mitigating measures, prevention and mitigation for the loss of my valuable pictures and prevention and mitigation of a potential depression.

1. I backed-up all the pictures in my camera in my external hard drive.

2. I started downloading and removing some pictures in the camera into my computer, blogs and Facebook accompanied with write-ups.

3. I resolved to back-up the pictures in my camera at least once a week or more often.

4. I resolved to regularly remove pictures in my camera to keep the numbers to a minimum.

Thus, in case my camera got lost or got destroyed, I will still have back-up pictures in my computer and external hard drive, if not all, at least majority.  What I may lose will be the ones that were not back-up in the interval within the back-up schedules.

This is an example of  a potential disaster that may occur in a person in terms of psychosocial impact over loss of valuable assets.  This narration also illustrates the concepts of disaster prevention (trying not to lose any pictures because of back-up policies and procedures) and mitigation (if there will be a loss of pictures, it is not all, just some; if there will be a depression, it will not be severe; again because of back-up policies and procedures).

This entry was posted in Camera, Disaster Consciousness Month. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

