ROJoson’s Facebook Project – Year One (June 16, 2011 to June 16, 2012) – An Evaluation

ROJoson’s Facebook Project – Year One (June 16, 2011 to June 16, 2012)

Evaluation of RJOSON’s Facebook Project – After 12 Months of Usage

https://rojosonfacebooknotes.wordpress.com/category/roj-facebook-genesis-and-contents/

I officially started using Facebook on June 16, 2011.  Today, June 16, 2012 is the first birthday or first anniversary of my Facebook Project.

Last December 17, 2011, I did an evaluation after 6 months of usage. See https://rojosonfacebooknotes.wordpress.com/2011/12/17/evaluation-of-rjosons-facebook-project-after-6-months-of-usage-december-17-2011/

Today, June 16, 2012, I am doing an evaluation after 12 months of usage.

The following was my first post in my homepage (profile page) in Facebook on June 16, 2011, spelling out the objectives and contents of my Facebook:

“My Facebook will contain my thoughts, perceptions, opinions, and recommendations (TPOR) on things of interest to me and on things that may be of interest and concern to my patients, to my colleagues, to my friends, and to my family.” https://rojosonfacebooknotes.wordpress.com/2011/10/02/75/

Aside from a profile page (homepage), I created “pages” and “groups.”

The following “pages” have been created:

  • ROJoson Medical Clinic (created July 8, 2011)
  • ROJoson Breast Wellness Clinic (created July 9, 2011)
  • ROJosonThyroid Wellness Clinic (created July 9, 2011)
  • Hospital Safety Promotion and Disaster Preparedness Program (created July 12, 2011)
  • Medical Anecdotal Reports (created November 9, 2011)
  • ROJoson Writing on Hospital Administration (created February 8, 2012)

The following”groups” have been created by me between June 16, 2011 to August 20, 2011:

  • MDH-ORC Safety Promotion and Disaster Preparedness Program
  • Hospital Safety Promotion and Disaster Preparedness Program
  • MDH Safety Promotion and Disaster Preparedness Program
  • Friends of ROJoson Medical Clinic
  • ROJoson Family
  • MDH Sharps Safety and Waste Management System (August 20, 2011)

I have not created new groups since August 20, 2011.  I have resolved since then not to create new groups anymore unless I can be assured of good participation from group members.  I will not be utilizing the groups anymore unless extremely needed since posts in my “homepage” will be able to reach my friends in the groups.  The only group that I will keep active is that of ROJoson Family.

For the past 12 months, I have been using the Facebook as a “personal” blog to:

  • Facilitate communication and keeping in touch with my patients, students, colleagues in the medical profession, classmates, friends, and with my family;
  • Advance my advocacy on “Education for Health Development in the Philippines,” which I started in 1989;
  • Share on my personal thoughts, perceptions, opinions, and recommendations (TPORs) in the following four areas: Medicine; Hospital Administration; Medical Education; and Life (with focus on the following specific topics: Breast Wellness; Thyroid Wellness; Hospital Quality Management  System; Hospital Safety Promotion and Disaster Preparedness Program; and Problem-based Learning in Medicine and Surgery
  • Friends in Facebook
Friends in Facebook
As of December 17, 2011 563
As of June 16, 2012 738
  • Facebook Pages – Likes
Likes – June 16, 2012
ROJoson Medical Clinic

67

ROJoson Breast Wellness Clinic

59

ROJoson Thyroid Wellness Clinic

66

Hospital Safety Promotion and Disaster Preparedness Program

95

Medical Anecdotal Reports

5

ROJoson Writing on Hospital Administration

13

WordPress Blog: https://rojosonfacebooknotes.wordpress.com

In July 26, 2011, I created https://rojosonfacebooknotes.wordpress.com to store the notes that I posted in my Facebook homepage. I have not been using the “My Notes” in the Facebook as much as before since I created this site on WordPress.com.  I usually go directly to https://rojosonfacebooknotes.wordpress.com to make my blogs and sometimes, Google sites and then link them to my Facebook homepage and my Facebook pages.  This saves my time and effort as I don’t have to post the same blog twice, one in Facebook and another one in WordPress.com.  I find https://rojosonfacebooknotes.wordpress.com very useful in terms of archiving; easy retrieval; tracking how many people visited my sites; etc. which are difficult to do in Facebook.

https://rojosonfacebooknotes.wordpress.com (Created: July 26, 2011)

Statistics as of Total posts Total views
December 17, 2011 129 611
June 16, 2012  331 6,135

  • I have created more archiving sites in wordpress.com especially for the Pages to facilitate archiving.
As of June 16, 2012 Created Total Posts Total Views
https://rojosonfacebooknotes.wordpress.com Jul, 2011 331 6135
http://hospitalsafetypromotionanddisasterpreparedness.wordpress.com Jul, 2011 73 940
http://rojosonwritingsonhospitaladministration.wordpress.com Feb, 2012 56 391
http://rojosonmedicalclinic.wordpress.com Apr, 2012 40 664

Statistics on Hospital Safety Promotion and Disaster Preparedness Program

Statistics on ROJoson’s Writings on Hospital Administration

Statistics on ROJoson Medical Clinic

Evaluation and Action Plans for Improvement:

  1. I have fulfilled all the objectives that were set at the start, namely:

“My Facebook will contain my thoughts, perceptions, opinions, and recommendations (TPOR) on things of interest to me and on things that may be of interest and concern to my patients, to my colleagues, to my friends, and to my family.” [I have increasing “likes” and views from my intended readers.]

I have been using the Facebook as a personal blog to:

  • Facilitate communication and keeping in touch with my patients, students, colleagues in the medical profession, classmates, friends, and with my family;
  • Advance my advocacy on “Education for Health Development in the Philippines,” which I started in 1989;
  • Share on my personal thoughts, perceptions, opinions, and recommendations (TPORs) in the following four areas: Medicine; Hospital Administration; Medical Education; and Life. (with focus on the following specific topics: Breast Wellness; Thyroid Wellness; Hospital Quality Management  System; Hospital Safety Promotion and Disaster Preparedness Program; and Problem-based Learning in Medicine and Surgery

2. Action plans.

  • Will put in more contents in the Page and WordPress blog of Medical Anecdotal Reports.
  • Will improve the “likes” in the pages in Facebook.
  • Will create WordPress blog for ROJoson Thyroid Wellness Clinic and ROJoson Breast Wellness Clinic.
  • Will  continue to re-post or reiterate important TPORs in the Facebook at planned intervals, such as monthly or quarterly.
This entry was posted in ROJ Facebook Genesis and Contents. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

