Earth Hour and ROJoson and Health Care Organizations

Earth Hour and ROJoson and Health Care Organizations

by Reynaldo O Josonon Sunday, April 1, 2012 at 9:02pm ·

Earth Hour and ROJoson and Health Care Organizations

Reynaldo O. Joson, MD, MHA, MHA, MHPEd, MSc Surg

April 1, 2012

 

Earth Hour is a worldwide movement and advocacy to unite people to protect and sustain the planet earth particularly against global warming caused by climate change.   This is being spearheaded by the World Wildlife Fund (WWF) because of its mission to stop the degradation of the earth’s natural environment and build a future where people can live in harmony with nature.

 

Earth Hour started in 2007 in Sidney, Australia, where 2.2 million individuals and more than 2,000 businesses turned their lights out for one hour to take a stand against climate change.

 

In 2008, the activity was no longer limited to Australia as more countries joined the movement.   As of 2011, more than 135 countries (http://www.earthhour.org) and as of 2012, 150 out of the 196 total number of countries have joined the Earth Hour movement.

 

As of 2011, the Philippines holds the title of “Hero Country,” leading the initiative for three years with the most number of participants. In 2009, approximately 10 million Filipinos participated in Earth Hour, saving over 600 megawatt hours of electricity in the 60-minute switch-off.  In 2011, 18 million Filipinos joined Earth Hour.

 

Thus, Earth Hour has become an annual global event since 2008, scheduled on the last Saturday of every March – closely coinciding with the equinox to ensure most cities are in darkness as it rolled out around the Earth.

As a citizen of the earth and as a health professional, I subscribe to the Earth Hour movement and advocacy.  I have been celebrating the Earth Hour since 2009, switching off lights in my house in 2009 and 2010.  I attended the Earth Hour in Ayala Triangle in 2011.  Yesterday, March 31, 2012, I attended the Earth Hour in Manila Doctors Hospital.

 

Speaking of Manila Doctors Hospital (MDH), of which I am proud to be a member, because of its social vision, it subscribes to the Earth Hour movement and advocacy.  I hope all health care organizations are doing the same.  MDH has a very active Environmental Committee and it has joined Earth Hour celebration since 2009.  Its environmental projects had won a Philippine Quill Awards in 2011 and an Anvil Awards in 2012.

 

 

 

 

The annual one-hour-one-day-a-year Earth Hour of turning off lights on the last Saturday of March from 8:30 pm to 9:30 pm  is but an initiation and an awareness event.  It is recommended to go Beyond the Hour to commit to lasting action on climate change.

 

Personally, as part of my contribution as a citizen of the earth, I have formulated the following framework, the details of which I will expound in the near future:

 

 

Off-hand, I can say, that for so many years now, I and my family are trying our very best in doing positive things on waste management and resource conservation.

At home, we

  • segregate wastes; reuse them; recycle them; minimize use of plastics when shopping in groceries; dispose them as properly as possible;
  • bring recyclables to the junk shops (the money I get I give to my children for their allowance);
  • minimize waste of water in the bathrooms (this cuts down my family expenses also);
  • minimize waste of electricity (this cuts down my family expenses also);
  • minimize waste of gasoline during travels in the metropolis and out of town (this cuts down my family expenses also); etc.

In my place of work, I segregate wastes, particularly, medical sharps and white papers; reuse “scratch” papers; minimize use of papers for communication (I am heavy in the use of emails and digital documents); etc.  I am continually supporting and advocating waste management and resource conservation in Manila Doctors Hospital and Ospital ng Maynila Medical Center.

 

There are still more that I and my family will have to do and refine.

 

I hope to be able to share the details on what I am doing Beyond the Earth Hour in the near future.

This entry was posted in Earth Hour. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

