1970 Year Book of the University of the Philippines (Diliman) Filipino-Chinese Students’ Association (Fil-Chi) Posted Online

1970 Year Book of the University of the Philippines (Diliman) Filipino-Chinese Students’ Association (Fil-Chi) Posted Online

by Reynaldo O Joson on Friday, January 6, 2012 at 9:55pm

This is to announce that I have scanned and posted the 1970 Year Book of the University of the Philippines (Diliman) Filipino-Chinese Students’ Association (Fil-Chi) online.

The URL is https://sites.google.com/site/upfilchiyearbook1970

The site contains most of the contents of the Yearbook of the Filipino-Chinese Students Association published in 1970 at the end of my term as President of the Association.

I scanned the Yearbook  today and published them  on this site – to serve as an archive before my one and only hard copy completely disintegrates and to rekindle memories, not only mine but also of people who were members of the Association in the past.

Rereading the Yearbook, the theme was assimilation of the Chinese and the Filipino cultures in the Philippines.  With the four articles, namely, On the Chinese Problem, Amalgam, Land of the Palms and Assimilation – Comments, I felt the Yearbook contained enough insights on the issue of assimilation.

What has happened to the assimilation challenge over the years, I wonder?

I can honestly say it has dramatically improved with more and more marriages between Chinese and Filipinos in the Philippines nowadays.

I was an advocate of assimilation then.  What has happened to my advocacy?

I can honestly say I am assimilated into the Filipino culture.  I now carry a Filipino surname (from Dy to Joson).  I married a Filipina.  Our family practices (with two children) have a combination of Filipino and Chinese traditions, and more on the former.

Note: I am looking forward to having my friends from Fil-Chi dropping me a note once they see this yearbook.

Dr. Rey Joson (formerly Rey Dy)

This entry was posted in Fii-Chi Students Association. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

