Role Model for Continual Education after an MD Degree and Specialty Training

Role Model for Continual Education after an MD Degree and Specialty Training

by Reynaldo O Joson on Tuesday, December 13, 2011 at 12:15am

December 10, 2011, I gave a lecture to students of Master in Hospital Administration (MHA) on Organization and Management of the Emergency Room and Operating Room at the University of the Philippines College of Public Health.

 

After my lecture, one of the students, MC, approached me and asked about  Master in Science in Surgery in the University of the Philippine College of Medicine – to whom to get in touch with and the curriculum.  I said I am currently in charge and I will email him the curriculum.

 

MC finished his plastic surgery residency in the Philippine General Hospital. He is now taking up Master in Hospital Administration. After MHA, he plans to take up two more masters – Master in Clinical Epidemiology and Master of Science in Surgery.  He said he wanted to be like me, with three masters degrees.  I have MHA, Master in Health Profession Education, and Master of Science in Surgery.

 

I was really very very happy that day when MC told me he wanted to be like me.  That really makes my day – I am a role model for continual education after an MD degree and specialty training and I have at least one follower on getting three master degrees.

 

Note: I almost had a PhD to cap my three master degrees.  I enrolled in PhD in Organizational Development in SAIDI but had to give it up because of busy schedule.

This entry was posted in Education and Learning. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

