ROJoson’s Resolutions on Avoiding Stressed Eyes from “Computering”

ROJoson’s Resolutions on Avoiding Stressed Eyes from “Computering”

by Reynaldo O Joson on Friday, November 25, 2011 at 7:07pm

How Computer Could Add to Our Visual Stress

Nowadays, many people, including me, spend their entire day in front of their computer.

This can lead to stressed out eyes.

The American Optometric Association found that about 75% of computer users complain of visual discomfort after prolonged computer use.

As a result of the visual stress, one could suffer from:

  • Blurred or double vision
  • Visual fatigue
  • Headaches
  • Neck pain
  • Shoulder discomfort

Today, I resolve to do the following when I do my “computering:”

  • I will not do computering for more than 6 hours a day.
  • I will avoid computering without a taking breaks.
  • I will not do computering straight for one hour without taking a break.
  • I will take a quick break every 30 minutes.  I will look at a distant object.  I will get up and walk around for at least 5 minutes.
  • I will not do computering straight for three hours without taking breaks.
  • I will take a break after one hour of computering. I will get up and walk around for at least 15 minutes.
This entry was posted in Computers. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

