My Teachers, My Heroes

My Teachers, My Heroes

by Reynaldo O Joson on Tuesday, September 6, 2011 at 11:11pm

National Teachers’ Month Campaign opens

September 3, 2011, 5:05pm

MANILA, Philippines — The Department of Education (DepEd) is leading Sunday’s opening activities of the 2011 Teachers’ Month Campaign (TMC) marking the start of the national countdown to the World Teachers’ Day celebration on October 5, 2011.

With the theme “My Teacher, My Hero,” the 2011 TMC seeks to highlight the unique role, service, and commitment which teachers play in guiding families, strengthening communities, and building the nation. It seeks to revitalize the image of and respect for teaching as a vocation by increasing public awareness on the value of teachers in Philippine society and in national development. It calls on everyone to contribute in making teaching an attractive profession and in giving teachers the needed support and assistance; generate widespread support for teachers in particular and education in general; and express sincere gratitude for the positive influences teachers have had on the Filipino learners.

Now on its fourth year, TMC is the country’s response to the call of the United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) to celebrate World Teachers’ Day meaningfully on October 5 every year.

Programs, projects, and activities are held in all division and regional offices. All public and private elementary  and secondary schools, division and regional offices are enjoined to conduct programs, projects, and activities in support of the 2011 TMC, like on-the-spot poster-making contests, essay writing competitions, and designing THANK YOU cards to honor our teachers. It is hoped that this annual observance of National Teachers’ Month Campaign will serve to provide encouragement and inspiration to our teachers to remain faithful to their vocation and their country by continuing to play a vital role in shaping and challenging the minds of our Filipino youth and equip them with the critical tools for lifelong learning.

teacher_thank

I honor all the teachers that I had before in Nueva Ecija Chinese School, Xavier School, Grace Christian School, University of the Philippines (Diliman and Maniila), and Philippine General Hospital. I also honor all my informal teachers, my parents, my brothers and sisters, my wife, my children, my patients and my colleagues in the medical and surgical profession, medical colleges, and hospital administration.

This entry was posted in Teachers. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

