2nd Edition or 2nd Book on Thyroid Diseases?

2nd Edition or 2nd Book on Thyroid Diseases?

by Reynaldo O Joson on Friday, August 19, 2011 at 7:18am

I received this note from Dr. Matic.

 

Hi Sir.  I remember when I was a resident, I read a book about thyroid disorders which was handed to me by my consultants at that time that you authored.  It was very useful for me.  It made the topic of thyroid really simple to understand. I’m just wondering if your have any plans sir to coming up with a second edition.  I can help you with it, if you want sir.

 

Marwin Emerson V. Matic, M.D.

Head and Neck Surgical Oncology

General Surgery

De La Salle University Medical Center

Dasmarinas, Cavite

August 18, 2011

 

Dr. Matic is NOT the first person who has given me positive feedback on the book that I wrote circa 1986.  It was entitled “Thyroid Surgical Diseases.”  It was liked by consultants and residents from several different hospitals.  I can recall Dr. Sammy Ang, the departments of surgery of Batangas Regional Hospital, Zamboanga City Medical Center, Philippine General Hospital liking it, among others.

 

Dr. Matic’s note serves as the latest stimulus for me to come out with a 2nd edition or 2nd book on thyroid disorder.

 

First thing I have to do is to get hold of my 1986 book entitled: “Thyroid Surgical Diseases” and decide whether I will make a 2nd edition and come out with a completely new format.

 

I don’t think I have a copy of this book anymore.  However, I heard from Dr. Hazel Turingan that she saw a copy of this book in the office of the Division of Thoracocardiovascular Surgery in the Philippine General Hospital when she was rotating there 3 to 4 years ago.  It was a copy of Dr. Jimmy Esquivel.   I will inquire.

 

I gave Dr. Sammy Ang a copy more than 20 years ago.  I don’t know whether he still has the copy.  Again, I will inquire.

 

NOTE: If anybody happens to have a copy of the book, I will appreciate lending it to me so that I can review and revise for a possible 2nd edition.

This entry was posted in Thyroid Book - ROJ. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

